Horror · Literature · Science Fiction · Thriller

3 years, 2 kids and 20 or so books later.

whativeread

I didn’t plan on abruptly stopping my blogging…but after having my now 3-year old and 1.5-year old, I quickly realized there was little time left to read, let alone blog! I’ve rounded up a list of the books I can remember reading in the past three years (thanks to my Kindle and staring at my bookshelves), and categorized them from “Loved So Much That I’d Reread” to “I DO NOT UNDERSTAND THE HYPE.” If I had to recommend any books/author, it’s Peter Heller. Can’t wait to find the time to reread his books, noted below. Looking forward to reading and writing more…and please pass on your recommendations or comments!

Loved So Much That I’d Reread:

The Painter – Peter Heller (Stellar writing. An Oprah “Must Read” & I found a signed copy at Books Inc in CA!!)
The Dog Stars – Peter Heller (Beautifully written & different, a post-apocalyptic story about a man and his dog)
The Devil in the White City – Erik Larson (The Chicago Fair and a serial killer goodness!)

Great Reads:

Descent – Tim Johnston (Thriller: A girl goes missing on a run in the mountains with her brother)
Thunderstruck – Erik Larson (Nonfiction: Weaves together a tale about the invention of wireless communication & a murderer)
Dead Wake – Erik Larson (Nonfiction: The sinking of the Lusitania)
Fourth of July Creek – Smith Henderson (His first novel…about a social worker and a paranoid survivalist)

Got My Zombie/Apocalypse/Epidemic Fix:

Red Hill – Jamie McGuire (Little lame/predictable)
Station Eleven – Emily St. John Mandel
The Three – Sarah Lotz (The apocalypse & three child survivors)

Disturbing & Probably Not For Everyone

The Shining Girls – Lauren Beukes (A time-traveling serial killer)
Broken Monsters – Lauren Beukes (A really disturbed killer is on the loose)
Little Star – John Ajvide Lindqvist (One of my favorite authors…quoted to be unsettling…I agree)

Crossed Them Off My List, But Wasn’t Blown Away:

The Martian – Andy Weir (The knowledge it took Weir to write this amazed me)
The Miniaturist – Jessie Burton

Great, But Not What I Expected:

The Paying Guests – Sarah Waters (Love this author…didn’t realize it was quoted to be “volcanically sexy” until after I started it)

Not Showing Off, Not Falling Behind:

Harvest Home – Thomas Tyron (A 1969 tale of horror…involving corn and a small village)
In the Kingdom of Ice – Hampton Sides (The USS Jeanette heads into Artic waters)
Evening – Susan Minot (The narrator switches between memories and her current state of delirium)
Dead Mountain: The Untold Story of the Dyatlov Pass Incident Donnie Eichar (Recommended in an Eleventh Stack post…hard to believe)
DePotter’s Grand Tour – Joanna Scott
When Will There Be Good News– Kate Atkinson

Odd But True Sci-Fi:

The Book of Strange New Things – Michael Faber (Couldn’t be different than his other book, The Crimson Petal and the White. I still don’t know what I thought about this book)

I DO NOT UNDERSTAND THE HYPE:

The Girl on the Train – Paula Hawkins (Thriller(?!): Am I the only one who didn’t like this book? I thought it was terribly predictable and expected. And not thrilling)

I Have Yet To Finish…But Worth Finishing!

New York – Edward Rutherfurd (Historical Fiction: Wonderful and smart…but also a bit dry and long and I’m struggling to get through it)
The Shadow of the Wind -Carlos Ruiz Zafón (A beautiful book, but one that takes concentration to read)
Great House – Nicole Krauss

Three Trilogies Sitting On My Bookshelf – Trilogies Are An Intimidating Thing Nowadays:

Ken Follett’s Century Trilogy (My favorite author!)
Joe Abercrombie’s First Law Trilogy (Fantasy: Rec’d by my most trusted book recommender, Chris Kandravy)
Mervyn Peake’s Gormenghast Trilogy (Fantasy: Also rec’d by Kandravy)

Happy reading! 🙂

4 thoughts on “3 years, 2 kids and 20 or so books later.

  1. Great list! I think the one-every-three-years blog post schedule could work for me, too, at the rate I’ve been blogging these days. (Although I don’t have little ones as a good reason for not blogging.) I thought Great House was so amazing but I never wrote a review (too intimidated?). I loved The Shadow of the Wind, too, but don’t remember much about the plot now, a few years later.

    1. 🙂 Yeah, I feel like I can’t just pick up The Shadow of the Wind and start reading where I left off…I’d have to totally re-familiarize myself with it, which is a chore. But what I read was so good! Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

