Chick Lit · Historical fiction

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society…not so charming

Title: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
Author: 
Mary Ann Shaffer & Annie Barrows
Published: Dial Press/2009
Genre: Historical Fiction
Length: 290 pages
Rating: 1/10

Just to be clear–I did start to read The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. My friend Allison W. read it for her book club, rated it, “between ok and good,” and said it grew on her as she read it. I gave it a try because it was historical fiction and short, so I thought I’d read it quickly and then get back to my growing pile of books I have set aside for this summer. But I only got to page 23 before I realized that I’d rather jam pencils in my eyes than read any further!

The story is written in letter format (as in snail-mail) and takes place in London and Guernsey Island during the Nazi occupation in WWII. There’s no introduction to the characters–you just start reading letters written between author Juliet Ashton (her pen name is Izzy Bickerstaff), her friends/colleagues and eventually the inhabitants of Guernsey Island–and obviously at some point the society named in the book’s title is formed. The little I read was hard to follow, not knowing who anyone was or what events they were referencing in their letters. The writing was fluffy–the prose in all the letters was a little too forced and formal. And I wasn’t really getting to know the characters.

I’ve read other reviews that rave about The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and call it charming and delightful–but I just couldn’t read on. Maybe I gave up too soon? Anyone disagree with me?

2 thoughts on “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society…not so charming

  1. I totally agree! I read this a few years ago. I couldn’t get what the hype was about! So boring. I made it through…barely.

Leave a Reply

